Home > Travel > Athens…

Athens…

What I was doing in Athens is anyone’s guess… I had got there (from a different place) by train only to find that, as with everywhere else I found myself, I did not speak the language and, hitherto, had felt no particular desire to go in the first place.

Mildly enthusiastic about the possibility of sitting down and discussing high-brow theories of logic vs belief or, alternatively, meeting some gorgeous Greek girl (either would have been fine) I set off for the only recognisable structure in the area…

Once there, and whilst surveying Athens from above, I eavesdropped on an art/history lesson. Interesting, but the only bits of information I didn’t already know I have since forgotten – so a waste of time, it seems. On the gorgeous Greek girl front (if, indeed, I could get anywhere near her front) there was no action; as for the opportunity to discuss logic vs belief on the steps where some old guys chatted ages ago; no luck.

So, some nice photos at least, but little else. I do recall a most splendid cold beer with some snack food somewhere in the narrow streets below the Acropolis – the rest is a blur.

‘Be thankful for the beer’, says my mangled mind in a kind of religious stupor; let us pray: oh Lord please provide us with beer, women and enough money to enjoy the two in large enough quantities that we forget what we did the following morning… Amen.

Categories: Travel
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment